Committee of Adjustment

print-logo

What is the Committee of Adjustment?

The Committee of Adjustment is a quasi-judicial body made up of five members, appointed by Council,  that hears applications and makes decisions on Minor Variances and Consents.

The Planning Act grants authority to hear development applications for:

1. Minor Variances from the provisions of a Zoning By-law; or enlargement, extension or alteration of a legal non-conforming  use of land, buildings or structures. 

2. Consent or severance of a parcel of land for the following purposes:
a. Creating a new lot;
b. Lot adjustments and extensions;
c. Leases, right-of-ways and easements over 21 years;
d. Corrections to deeds or property descriptions.

As per Section 45 of the Planning Act, the Committee of Adjustment is permitted to make decisions on Minor Variances that do not comply with the regulations contained in the current Zoning By-law and to grant permission for altering or changing a lawful non-conforming use of land, buildings or structures.

Minor Variance Application Form


A Consent Application is required to be heard by the Committee of Adjustment regarding land transactions for the separation of a parcel of land from existing land holdings i.e. creation of a new parcel of land; boundary adjustments / lot addition; easements or correction of title; leases, rights-of-ways or easements if such extend beyond a period of 21 years and to partially mortgage or partially discharge a mortgage on a parcel of land under the provisions of the Planning Act.

Consent/Severance Application Form


The Committee of Adjustment meets every third Thursday of every month at 4:30 p.m. at Town Hall.  See below for the Schedule of Meeting Dates and Application Submission Deadlines.

Submission Deadlines Meeting Dates Location
Monday, December 11, 2017 Thursday, January 18, 2018 @ 4:30 p.m. Town Hall
Monday, January 15, 2018 Thursday, February 15, 2018 @4:30 p.m. Canton
Monday, February 12, 2018 Thursday, March 15, 2018 @ 4:30 p.m. Town Hall
Monday, March 19, 2018 Thursday, April 19, 2018 @ 4:30 p.m. Town Hall
Monday, April 16, 2018 Thursday, May 17, 2018 @ 4:30 p.m. Town Hall
Monday, May 14, 2018 Thursday, June 21, 2018 @ 4:30 p.m. Town Hall
Monday, June 18, 2018 Thursday, July 19, 2018 @ 4:30 p.m. Town Hall
Monday, July 16, 2018 Thursday, August 16, 2018 @ 4:30 p.m. Town Hall
Monday, August 20, 2018 Thursday, September 20, 2018 @ 4:30 p.m. CANCELLED Town Hall
Monday, September 17, 2018 Thursday, October 18, 2018 @ 4:30 p.m.  CANCELLED Town Hall
Monday, October 15, 2018 Thursday, November 15, 2018 @4:30 p.m. CANCELLED Town Hall
Monday, November 5, 2018 Thursday, December 6, 2018 @ 4:30 p.m. Town Hall
Monday, December 10, 2018 Thursday, January 17, 2019 @ 4:30 p.m. Town Hall

Chair: Anita Blackwood 
Vice Chair: Lynn Brown 
Staff Rep.: Melissa Moher, Secretary-Treasurer

Office Location:

Development Team Office
5 Mill St. S.
Port Hope, ON L1A 2S6
Tel: 905.885.2431 ext.2505
Fax: 905.885.0507
coa@porthope.ca