Finance

print-logo

Town Hall
56 Queen Street
Port Hope, ON L1A 3Z9
Phone: 905.885.4544
Fax: 905.885.1807

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday

Contact Information

For Tax Inquiries - tax@porthope.ca

For Water/Wastewater Billing Inquiries - waterbilling@porthope.ca

General Inquiries - finance@porthope.ca

 

Director of Finance/Treasurer
David Baxter
Ext. 2223
dbaxter@porthope.ca 

Finance Assistant
Rachel Fulford 
Ext. 2254
finance@porthope.ca 

Tax & Revenue Coordinator
Sandra Brown
Ext. 2205
tax@porthope.ca 

Tax Collector
Debbie Sherwood
Ext. 2248
dsherwood@porthope.ca

Revenue Administrator 
Kristen Gaudette
Ext. 2202
waterbilling@porthope.ca or ar@porthope.ca 

General Accountant 
Dan Sutherland
Ext. 2208
dsutherland@porthope.ca 

 

 

 

 

 

Accounting Manager
Susan Marsh
Ext. 2204
smarsh@porthope.ca 

Financial Analyst
Amanda Aasen
Ext. 2237
aaasen@porthope.ca

Procurement & Payables Administrator
Toni Anderson
Ext. 2203
ap@porthope.ca or procurement@porthope.ca 

Payroll & Benefits Administrator
Marilyn Andrews
Ext. 2207
mandrews@porthope.ca

Human Resources Manager
Gina Jackson
Ext. 2250
gjackson@porthope.ca

The Role of the Finance Department

The Finance Department provides financial advice and guidance to Council and departments with three main areas of responsibility:

  • Revenue and Receivables includes tax, water/sewer and accounts receivable billing and collection; Revenue processing and reconciliation; Bank deposits; Assessment review/analysis; processing paperwork for assessment appeals, vacancy rebates, etc.; attending to customers at counter; responding to customers questions re: taxes and water/sewer bills; advising customers of suspected water leaks based on meter reading;
  • Procurement and Expenditures includes overseeing purchasing for all departments including reviewing and posting bid documents and assisting with award decisions; processing of properly authorized accounts payable; processing payroll and employee benefits; managing OMERS memberships and amendments and WSIB and other leave claims.

    External companies can review current online bid and tender opportunities for the Municipality of Port Hope through Bid Opportunities.   Companies are welcome to register as a plan taker to receive notification of upcoming bid or tender opportunities.
  • Budgets and Accounting includes the responsibilities for administering the annual operating budget and the multi-year capital budget; maintaining all financial transactions and appropriate record keeping including preparation of year-end financial statements and Financial Information Return; municipal insurance matters and investments; analysis and review of operating and capital accounts for budget management purposes and to ensure compliance with the Public Sector Accounting Board and Generally Accepted Accounting Principles financial reporting guidelines.

    The Municipality of Port Hope encourages public participating in the budget process. All meetings of the Budget Committee are open to the public, advertised in Northumberland News and on our website. Agendas and Minutes are available through our Council Portal

The Municipality of Port Hope offers Pre-Authorized Payment for Tax and Water/Sewer bills.  Our pre-authorized payment plans are a convenient way to ensure your payments are processed on time with no penalties.  There is no fee to enroll and payments are automatically withdrawn from your financial institution.  Enrollment can be completed any time throughout the year.  Contact the Finance department or download the application form under Forms Central.