MEDIA RELEASE: Appointments to Waterfront and Riverwalk Working Group

print-logo February 05, 2020

Municipality of Port Hope Council Appoints Members to the Waterfront and Riverwalk Working Group

For Immediate Release

Wednesday, February 5, 2020 - Port Hope, ON

Members of Council for the Municipality of Port Hope are pleased to announce the appointment of seven members to the newly established Waterfront and Riverwalk Working Group, a citizen advisory committee established by, and responsible to Council to shape the vision, objectives, and design of a waterfront and riverwalk plan.

“We are very pleased with the caliber of individuals appointed to the Waterfront and Riverwalk Working Group,” notes Bob Sanderson, Mayor of the Municipality of Port Hope. “We have individuals with a high level of environmental expertise and experience in the fields of landscape and open space planning, public education and community outreach, terrestrial and aquatic ecology and hydrology. The Group is poised to roll up their sleeves and launch into this important community initiative.”

The Working Group is comprised of seven members, five residents and/or ratepayers of the Municipality, one member from the Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority and one member of the Parks, Recreation, and Culture Advisory Committee. The application process spanned several months in 2019 and, after a rigorous interview and selection process, the following members of the Waterfront and Riverwalk Working Group were appointed by Resolution for a two-year term, commencing February 4, 2020:

  • George Kallonakis
  • Roland Cave-Browne-Cave
  • Mark Vermeire
  • Gary Bowen
  • Dian Carlo
  • Faye Langmaid (Parks Recreation and Culture Advisory Committee Representative)
  • Cory Harris or designate – (Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority Representative)

Additionally, Municipal Staff resources dedicated to the Working Group includes members from the departments of Parks, Recreation & Culture and Community Development, as well as Mayor Sanderson as an ex-officio member.

In accordance with the terms of the Working Group, the following objectives will be addressed, over time, by the Members:

  1. Complete a review of the Consolidated Waterfront Master Plan and develop a revised plan inclusive of an implementation strategy.
  2. Identify and recommend improvements to trails and recreational access to the Ganaraska River and Waterfront.
  3. Identify potential investment opportunities and partnerships to encourage economic development initiatives along the Ganaraska River and Waterfront.

Formation of this Working Group aligns with the Municipal Strategic Plan priority for enhancement and development of the Waterfront and Riverwalk.

Members of Council would like to express their gratitude to all those who applied for a position, and for their continued support and passion for the community as a whole.

The Waterfront and Riverwalk Working Group will meet for the first time on February 11, 2020.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:
Kate Ingram, Communications / Community Engagement Coordinator
905-885-4544 x2248

Summary of Member Bios:

  • Rowland Cave Browne – Supervisor of Parks and Open Spaces with the City of Belleville and a certified landscape designer.

  • Marc Vermeire – Semi-retired with a strong background in Business and Engineering project management.

  • Gary Bowen – over 40 years’ experience as an aquatic biologist studying water quality and aquatic communities across Canada and Latin America.

  • Dian Carlo – experienced design artist and entrepreneur with a background in art related architectural works for buildings and grounds.

  • George Kallonakis – local entrepreneur and business owner with background in marketing, promotions and social media and an advocate for environmental initiatives.

  • Faye Langmaid – Manager of Planning with the Municipality of Clarington with extensive experience in planning and waterfront re-development. She also serves as the Parks, Recreation and Culture Advisory Committee representative.

  • Cory Harris (or designate – Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority (GRCA) Representative) Watershed Services Coordinator with a background in environmental engineering