Police Services Board


2017 Port Hope Police Services Board

In accordance with the Police Services Act, both the Port Hope Police Service (Ward 1) and the OPP (Ward 2) are overseen by the Port Hope Police Services Board. The Chief of the Port Hope Police Service and the Detachment Commander of the Northumberland OPP both report directly to the Port Hope Police Services Board.

Contact the Police Services Board at phpsb@porthope.ca 

Board Members

  • Jeff Gilmer, Chair
  • Doug Prendergast, Vice Chair
  • John Hudson
  • Councillor Les Andrews
  • Councillor Greg Burns

Subject to the provisions of Section 34 of the Police Services Act, Committees may be established by the Port Hope Police Services Board at any time to consider matters within the jurisdiction of the Board.  Chairs are appointed by resolution of the Board.  There are four Standing Committees of the Board (Labour Relations, Finance, Policy and Community Relations).  In addition, the Board Chair has responsibility for Communications & Planning.  Each Committee/Chair reports on its work at the Board's monthly meetings.


Dawn Campbell, Board Administrator phpsb@porthope.ca

Media Releases


Board meetings are open to the public and are held at 3PM on the 4th Thursday of the month in the Leonard Hutchings Community Room at the Port Hope Police Facility at 55 Fox Road.  Attendees should use the Community Room entrance.  The Board does not normally meet in August.

For Minutes and Agendas for prior years, please contact phpsb@porthope.ca 

Police Services Board Budget

Police Services Board 10-Year Plan

Policing Studies

Annual Reports

Business Plans



Resource Links