Group of people at a table looking of application

The Committee of Adjustment is a quasi-judicial body made up of five members, appointed by Council By-law, that hears applications and makes decisions on changes to your property.

What is the role of the Committee of Adjustment?

The Planning Act grants authority to the Committee of Adjustment to approve or decline applications for:

  • Minor Variances from the provisions of the Zoning By-law 
  • Consent or severance of a parcel of land

View Current Applications

Minor Variance

As per Section 45 of the Planning Act, the Committee of Adjustment is permitted to make decisions on Minor Variances that do not comply with the regulations contained in the current Zoning By-law and to grant permission for altering or changing a lawful non-conforming use of land, buildings or structures.

Minor Variance Applications can be submitted online by clicking on the button below. If you require a paper copy of the application please contact Planning. Refer to the Minor Variance Flowchart for a helpful visual of the application process.

The fee for the application can be found on the Fees and Charges page under 'Committee of Adjustment'.

Minor Variance Application 

Consent

A Consent Application is required to be heard by the Committee of Adjustment regarding land transactions for the separation of a parcel of land from existing land holdings i.e. creation of a new parcel of land; boundary adjustments / lot addition; easements or correction of title; leases, rights-of-ways or easements if such extend beyond a period of 21 years and to partially mortgage or partially discharge a mortgage on a parcel of land under the provisions of the Planning Act.

Consent Applications can be submitted online by clicking on the button below. If you require a paper copy of the application please contact Planning. Refer to the Consent Flowchart for a helpful visual of the application process.

The fee for the application can be found on the Fees and Charges page under 'Committee of Adjustment'.

Consent Application 

Public Meeting Dates

The Committee of Adjustment meets one Thursday a month at 4:30 p.m. at Town Hall. Meetings may be cancelled if no applications are received. See below for the schedule of meeting dates and application submission deadlines.

*Note: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, meetings will be held online until further notice. If you would like to attend the virtual meeting, please email Planning.

Submission Deadlines Meeting Dates Location

Monday, December 14, 2020

Thursday, January 28, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom
Monday, January 11, 2021 Thursday, February 25, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom
Monday, February 8, 2021 Thursday, March 18, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom
Monday, March 8, 2021 Thursday, April 22, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom
Monday, April 12, 2021 Thursday, May 20, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom
Monday, May 10, 2021 Thursday, June 17, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom
Monday, June 14, 2021 Thursday, July 22, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom
Monday, July 12, 2021 Thursday, August 19, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom
Monday, August 9, 2021 Thursday, September 23, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom
Monday, September 13, 2021 Thursday, October 21, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 Thursday, November 18, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom
Monday, November 8, 2021 Thursday, December 16, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom
Monday, December 6, 2021 Thursday, January 20, 2022 at 4:30 p.m. Zoom

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas and minutes for the Committee of Adjustment meetings are available to the public. If you would like to view the agendas and minutes for past meetings, you can review them on the Council Portal or email us for assistance.

Committee Representatives

Position Member
Chair Marilyn Curson
Vice Chair Lynn Brown
Member Anita Blackwood
Member Louise Ferrie-Blecher
Member Ben Currelly
Secretary-Treasurer (Staff) Mandy Kort
Council Representative Deputy Mayor Les Andrews

 

 Citizen's Guide to Land Use Planning

The Citizen's Guide to Land Use Planning was developed by the Government of Ontario to provide property owners with helpful information about the legislation surrounding land use planning.