Council Meeting Notes - October 6th, 2020

For Immediate Release

Wednesday, October 7, 2020 - Port Hope, ON

Below is a summary of key items discussed at the Municipality of Port Hope regular Council Meeting held on Tuesday, October 6, 2020. The full agenda and staff reports are available on the Council Portal. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this meeting was held electronically via video conference.

Firefighters awards and recognition

In a special ceremony, Chief C. Ryan Edgar and Deputy Chief Dan Smith presented service awards to several members of the Fire Service for their dedication in 2020. Members who received awards included:

  • Firefighter Colin Vervoort - 5-year municipal service pin and certificate
  • Director/Fire Chief C. Ryan Edgar - 5-year municipal service pin and certificate
  • Firefighter Malcolm Taylor - 10-year municipal service pin and certificate
  • Firefighter Craig Barr - 15-year municipal medal and certificate

Additionally, the Chief and Deputy Chief awarded the Fire Services Exemplary Service Medal. This award is a service medal created in 1985 by the Canadian Monarch-in-Council to recognize members of Canadian fire services who have served for 20 years, ten years of which have been served in the performance of duties involving potential risks. Fire Services Exemplary Service Medals were awarded to:

  • Captain David Drummond - along with a 20-year municipal service certificate.
  • Captain Chris Smith

Finally, Chief Edgar announced Station Captain promotions to:

  • Captain Brian Bernard to Station Captain of Station 1
  • Captain Dave Drummond to Station Captain of Station 2
  • Captain Brad Goodwin to Station Captain of Station 3

Fire Prevention Inspector Jacquie Hill-Bower was also promoted to Fire Prevention Officer.

Acting Fire Chief appointment

Council approved a By-law to appoint current Deputy Fire Chief Daniel Smith to the position of Acting Director of Fire and Emergency Services/Fire Chief, Community Emergency Management Coordinator (CEMC), Emergency Management Program Committee (EMPC), and Chair and Municipal Emergency Control Group (MECG) Director.

After five successful years with the Municipality of Port Hope, Director of Fire and Emergency Services / Fire Chief C. Ryan Edgar has announced his retirement, effective mid October with a formal last date of November 18, 2020.

Until a recruitment process is completed, it is necessary for Council to appoint an individual to the acting position to fulfil the role. This will ensure leadership continuity and the sustained day-to-day management of operations related to the Department of Fire and Emergency Services.

Deputy Chief Daniel Smith has been with the Municipality of Port Hope in this role since March 23, 2020 and is well suited to assume the responsibilities demanded by the position in an acting capacity through the transition.

Business Park offer

Council approved a By-law directing the Mayor and Clerk to sign a purchase and sale agreement ratifying a contract between the Municipality of Port Hope and Millwright Local 2309 Training and Development Inc. for the properties Municipally known as 55, 65, and 75 Henderson Street.

Millwrights Local 2309 are proposing to develop a regional Millwright Training Centre and Assembly Hall. This is a phased development plan with the initial phase utilizing two of the three lots for a building and the third lot available for parking and future expansion. Phase One will be the construction of a 10,000 ft.² multi-story building. Phase Two will be a further 50,000 ft.² expansion of this facility.

In December 2009, the Municipality of Port Hope purchased 19 acres of employment lands for the sole purpose of developing a “shovel ready” Business Park, in keeping with the 2006 Economic Development Strategic Plan and Business Park Feasibility Study. The sale of these three lots marks a project milestone as all lots in the Business Park are now sold.

Monarch waystation dedication

Council supported the identification of a section of the Waterfront Trail along Lake Street from Hope Street to the Sculthorpe Marsh parking area as an Official and Certified Monarch Waystation. Additionally, Council approved the new Monarch Waystation to be dedicated to Rod Parrott.

The Monarch Waystation program was established to encourage the creation of food sources, such as milkweed, in home gardens, schools, businesses, parks, and more. To date, more than 20,000 monarch waystations have been registered with Monarch Watch across North America. An interactive map of registered monarch waystations is also available.

Rod Parrott was a lifelong contributing member of Port Hope's community and was recognized for his work with the Port Hope & District Historical Society through local activism and contributions to many areas of life in Port Hope.

One such passion of Rod's was his interest and preservation of the butterfly species. He was instrumental in developing the annual ''Monarch Butterfly Tag and Release'' event at Dorothy's House Museum in Garden Hill.

Rod Parrott was a noted Ontario butterfly breeder. He joined Toronto Entomologists' Association in the fall of 1979 and hosted several outings over the years to his butterfly rearing facility.

Film Policy amendment for COVID-19

Council amended the Film Policy to include the additional requirements related to any proposed filming during the COVID-19 pandemic. This amendment includes a COVID-19 Guidance Document for safe operations prior to, during, and after filming in the Municipality of Port Hope.

Minutes from this meeting will be available pending approval at the next Council meeting on Tuesday, October 20, 2020, at which point they will become the official record of the meeting.

Recordings of the October 6, 2020 Regular Council meeting and Committee of the Whole meeting are available on the Council page