In a first-of-its-kind ceremony, the Municipality of Port Hope honoured the recipients of the 2019 Civic Awards in a pre-recorded broadcast that was aired on YourTV Cogeco on Thursday, September 17, 2020.

“The Civic Awards is a special celebration for Council because it is an opportunity to publicly recognize and thank our dedicated citizens for all that they do to make Port Hope such a wonderful community,” explains Bob Sanderson, Mayor of the Municipality of Port Hope. “Council is thrilled that staff were able to present the awards this year, despite the challenge of not being able to gather in person to thank our community as we usually do. Congratulations to all of the nominees and award winners and I would encourage everyone to watch the ceremony posted on our website to share in the celebration of these fine individuals and groups.”

Originally scheduled to be hosted in the spring, the Civic Awards ceremony was cancelled as a result of the ongoing pandemic. In response, municipal staff, in partnership with YourTV Cogeco and Two Blue Shirts Productions, presented the pre-recorded special to honour and celebrate the dedicated volunteers and civic-minded recipients of the 2019 Civic Awards. A recording of the presentation is available online at

The Civic Awards Program sets out to recognize the broad range of elements that make up Port Hope’s inspiring culture, by acknowledging those who contribute time, skills, and resources towards improving the quality of life in the community.

The program celebrates nominees worthy of recognition for exceptional contributions and/or achievements, bringing honour and/or enrichment to the Municipality of Port Hope.

Highlights from this year’s ceremony include a special presentation of the Outstanding Citizen, awarded to Karen O'Hara, and Outstanding Youth awarded to Spencer Watson, as well as a message of hope from Committee Chair, Keri Kroeger.

The Civic Awards Advisory Committee, a committee of Council, meets regularly throughout the year to manage the recognition program and host the annual award ceremony on behalf of Council. The Committee is comprised of the following members: Keri Kroeger, David Kroeger, Sue Niles, Alexandra Byers, Sandra Ging, Councillor Wendy Meadows, Recording Secretary Mandy Burnet, and Staff Representative Jeannie Maidens.

The Civic Awards Committee is seeking civic-minded individuals to join the team. Those interested in applying can do so at

Review the Civic Awards page for more information and a list of all award recipients.