*This release is being issued on behalf of the Port Hope Police Services Board

For Immediate Release

February 7, 2020  - Port Hope, ON

The Port Hope Police Services Board (PHPSB) is pleased to announce the appointment of George Kallonakis to the PHPSB, a Provincial appointment for a two year period. He replaces Dale Chipman who resigned from the Board in October 2019.

Mr. Kallonakis has served on several Municipality of Port Hope committees and has been involved with Fare Share Food Bank, Northumberland United Way, Green Wood Coalition, 116 Royal Canadian Sea Cadet Corp and the Canadian Fire Fighters Museum.

Jeff Gilmer, Chair of the Board was pleased to hear of the appointment. “George has been an active member of the Port Hope community for many years and the Board is looking forward to working with him in what will be a very busy year."

The Port Hope Police Services Board is an autonomous civilian body, established by Provincial legislation to oversee the provision of policing services in the Municipality of Port Hope, including the rural area of the Municipality served by the OPP, Northumberland Detachment.

In accordance with Section 27 (6) of the Police Services Act, the Board is comprised of five members including the Head of Council (or designate), one member of Council, one municipal representative who is neither a member of Council nor an employee of the Municipality, and two provincial appointees.



For more information, please contact:

Jeff Gilmer, Port Hope Police Services Board Chair

Contact 905-885-8123 ext.245