MEDIA RELEASE: Civic Awards Ceremony Highlights

print-logo April 26, 2019

Municipality of Port Hope Celebrates Outstanding Citizens at Annual Civic Awards Ceremony

For Immediate Release

Friday, April 26, 2019 - Port Hope, ON

Municipality of Port Hope residents filled the Cameco Capitol Arts Centre on Thursday, April 25, to show their community spirit and celebrate the recipients of the 2018 Civic Awards, an event to recognize the many civic-minded volunteers in the community who have dedicated their time and talents to make a difference in the Municipality.

“The Civic Awards is a special event for Council because it is an opportunity to publicly recognize and thank our dedicated residents for all that they do to make Port Hope such a wonderful community,” explained Bob Sanderson, Mayor of the Municipality of Port Hope.
“This community has so many unsung heroes, and so I challenge our residents to think about nominating their neighbours in the future. It’s a meaningful way to acknowledge the good work being done throughout the Municipality, and without their nominations, there would be no civic awards.”

The Civic Awards Program sets out to recognize the broad range of elements that make up Port Hope’s inspiring culture, by acknowledging those who contribute time, skills and resources towards improving the quality of life in the community.

The program celebrates nominees worthy of recognition for exceptional contributions and/or achievements, bringing honour and/or enrichment to the Municipality of Port Hope.

Highlights from this year’s ceremony include:

• Pianist Michael Sinnott provided a selection of music for the audience as they arrived inside the theatre and he was accompanied by Elizabeth Sheppard in the singing of ‘O Canada’ to start the ceremony.

• A demonstration from champion baton twirler Charlotte Grimshaw, and a musical interlude from duo Matthew Kwan (piano) and Hannah Kwan (violin).

• Acknowledgements were made by MP Kim Rudd, Mayor Bob Sanderson, and Bob Dodd (on behalf of MPP David Piccini), and members of Council were on hand to present the awards.

• Award Categories included: Community Service, Athletics, Arts & Culture, Inspiration, Agriculture, and Philanthropy awards.

• The Outstanding Youth Award was presented to Port Hope High School student Madison Taylor.

The Civic Awards Advisory Committee, a committee of Council, meets regularly throughout the year to manage the recognition program and host the annual award ceremony on behalf of Council. The Committee is comprised of the following members: Keri Kroeger (Chair), David Kroeger, Alan Wilson, Councillor Wendy Meadows, Recording Secretary Mandy Paterson, Staff Representative Jeannie Maidens.

The Civic Awards Committee is seeking civic-minded individuals to join the team. Those interested in applying can do so at

More information about the Civic Awards program can be found online at

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:
Kate Ingram, Communications / Community Engagement Coordinator
Municipality of Port Hope
905-885-4544 x2248